Bruny Island Small-Group Tours: Six, Fifteen And Twenty Guests

Group size is the filter most Bruny Island travellers apply after price, and the roster spans a wide range: a six-guest signature tasting day, a 15-guest hike-and-taste, and 19 and 20-guest guided coach days. Here is how the caps compare.

A small minibus parked beside a gravel turnout overlooking a narrow sandy isthmus joining two green island headlands under a cloudy sky

Short answer

Bruny Island small-group tours run from a maximum of 6 guests (Bespoke Tours Hobart, from A$360 per person) through 10 (lighthouse climbs), 15 (Tours Tasmania hike-and-taste, from A$169) and 19 to 20 (Safaris and Tassie Tours full days, from A$180 to A$280).

Bruny Island guided days are sold on a spectrum of group sizes, and the difference between six guests and twenty is not cosmetic. It changes how long you wait at each cellar door, whether the guide can answer individual questions, and what the day costs. One of the lowest-priced full-day guided tours on this roster, from A$180 per person, carries up to 20 guests in a minibus; the most intimate day, from A$360 per person, carries no more than six. Between them sit a 15-guest hiking day, a 19-guest lighthouse-and-winery day and 10-guest lighthouse climbs.

This guide compares every capped tour on the roster by head count, price and format. Each operator sets its own maximum group size, so check the cap before you book, so a "small group" claim always comes with the number attached. Bruny Island Tasmania Tours publishes these comparisons so you can match a cap to a budget rather than guess. If you already know you want a fully private vehicle instead of a shared seat, the private tours guide covers the driver-guide options separately.

What Counts As A Small Group Tour On Bruny Island?

There is no official definition, so the honest approach is to state the cap every time a tour is called small-group. On this roster the smallest shared day is capped at 6 guests, and the largest tours still marketed as small-group experiences are capped at 20. A 10-guest lighthouse climb and a 15-guest hike sit in between. Every figure in this guide is the operator's own stated maximum from the listing, not an estimate.

The word "small" does a lot of quiet work in tour marketing. A 20-guest minibus day is genuinely smaller than a large coach, and the operators here are not being dishonest when they describe it as a small-group experience; the cap is printed on the listing. But a traveller who pictures a van of eight will be surprised by a vehicle of twenty, which is why each cap in this article is stated beside the tour name at every mention.

The roster's shared-day caps, from smallest to largest, are 6, 10, 15, 19 and 20. The 6-guest cap belongs to the Signature Bruny Island Tour from Bespoke Tours Hobart. The 10-guest cap applies to the guided Cape Bruny Lighthouse climbs, which are short experiences rather than full days. Tours Tasmania's hike-and-taste day is capped at 15, Bruny Island Safaris runs a 19-guest lighthouse-and-winery day alongside its 20-guest flagship, and Tassie Tours Tasmania's full-day Bruny tour runs to 20.

Private tours sit outside this ladder entirely because you buy the vehicle, not a seat. The eight-hour private guided tour on the roster is priced from A$991 per group for up to 4 travellers, which works out differently per head depending on how many of you there are. For a broader look at the shared options across every budget, the Bruny Island tours overview lays out the full roster by category.

Which Bruny Island Tours Cap At Six, Ten Or Fifteen Guests?

Three tours hold the roster's genuinely small caps. The Signature Bruny Island Tour takes a maximum of 6 guests with a private driver, from A$360 per person. The guided Cape Bruny Lighthouse climb takes up to 10, from A$25 per person for 30 minutes. Tours Tasmania's hike, highlights and tastes day is capped at 15, from A$169 per person, and is the cheapest of the three full-day options at these caps. If you'd rather skip group caps altogether, our comparison of Bruny Island private tour driver-guides looks at what a fully exclusive day costs and who runs it best.

A wooden tasting counter with cheese boards, honey jars and glass tumblers arranged in front of a window overlooking green farmland

The Signature Bruny Island Tour, run by Bespoke Tours Hobart, is the roster's most intimate shared day. The listing describes a day for a maximum of 6 guests with a private driver, hotel pickup within 5 km of Hobart, the ferry crossing, and wine, oyster, honey and cheese samples; lunch and any whisky or chocolate tastings cost extra. It carries a 5.0 rating from 9 reviews, a small pool that reflects a six-seat product rather than mass demand. It is the priciest seat on the island, and the price buys access: a driver who can shape the day around the six people in the vehicle.

The 30-minute Cape Bruny lighthouse climb, operated by Bruny Island Safaris from the lighthouse car park, is capped at 10 travellers and rated 4.9 from 316 reviews. At from A$25 per person it is the roster's cheapest listed experience, but it is a component rather than a day: the listing is explicit that the parks pass and transport to the cape are not included. Many travellers meet it as a stop inside a full-day tour rather than booking it alone.

Tours Tasmania's Hobart: Bruny Island Adventure: Hike, Highlights & Tastes is the mid-cap sweet spot (see White Wallabies). Up to 15 guests hike the coast to the Arch and climb stairs to 360-degree views, then spend the afternoon on produce tastings. It is rated 4.8 from 76 reviews, from A$169 per person, with ferry transfers included and meals and drinks paid separately. Note the tighter cancellation window: free cancellation applies up to 2 days before the tour, not the 24 hours more common elsewhere on the roster.

Tour Operator Cap Price from Rating
Signature Bruny Island Tour Bespoke Tours Hobart 6 A$360 per person 5.0 from 9 reviews
Cape Bruny lighthouse climb Bruny Island Safaris 10 A$25 per person 4.9 from 316 reviews
Hike, Highlights & Tastes Tours Tasmania 15 A$169 per person 4.8 from 76 reviews
Lighthouse and winery lunch day Bruny Island Safaris 19 A$195 per person 5.0 from 3 reviews
Bar chart comparing the maximum guest count of five Bruny Island tours from six to twenty
Maximum guest caps across the roster's guided days: the signature tour holds six, the hike-and-taste fifteen, and the largest days twenty.

The 19-guest row deserves its own sentence. Bruny Island Safaris runs two lighthouse days: the Ultimate Full-Day tour capped at 20 with 1,003 reviews behind a 4.8 rating, and the Bruny Island Day Tour: Exclusive Lighthouse and Local Tastings capped at 19, from A$195, with a 5.0 rating from just 3 reviews. The newer 19-cap day is the cheaper lighthouse option of the two, but its review pool is tiny, so treat its perfect score as three people's verdicts rather than a settled consensus.

How Do The Twenty-Guest Days Compare On Price?

The roster's two 20-guest full days sit at opposite ends of the price ladder. Tassie Tours' Full-Day Bruny Island Tour with Guide is one of the cheapest guided full days at from A$180 per person, with food paid separately. Bruny Island Safaris' Ultimate Full-Day tour is from A$280 per person and includes oysters, chocolate and honey tastings, a one-course lunch at Hotel Bruny and the Parks Pass.

An air-conditioned minibus with tinted windows waiting at a small ferry terminal queue beside calm grey water

The price gap between the two 20-guest days is mostly food and the lighthouse. The Tassie Tours day, rated 4.7 from 938 reviews, covers hotel pickup in the Hobart CBD, the round-trip ferry, live commentary and the National Parks Pass, with food and drinks paid for as you go. The Safaris flagship, rated 4.8 from 1,003 reviews, folds the tastings and a one-course lunch into the fare and adds a guided tour inside Cape Bruny Lighthouse. A traveller who would buy lunch and do the tastings anyway comes out close to level; a traveller who skips them saves real money on the cheaper day.

Reviews from the budget day suggest the guiding carries it. "The tour guide,Skye was amazing.She was polite,clear instructions, informative and accommodating," one guest wrote, continuing that "The scenery was just magnificent, a must if you are visiting Hobart!!" Another highlighted the same stops the pricier days include: "from barge ride to pub lunch to lighthouse,Forrest walk to chocolate shop," plus oysters at Get Shucked. The difference is that on the A$180 day those stops come out of your own pocket.

Whether a 20-guest minibus day deserves the small-group label is a fair question, and the answer is: with the cap stated, yes, with a caveat. Twenty is small compared with the coach category, where Pennicott's Bruny Island Traveller gourmet day runs in a full coach format for 9.5 hours from A$290. It is not small compared with anything else on this page. If your mental line for "small group" sits at a dozen or fewer, the 6, 10 and 15-cap tours above are the honest matches, and the 20-cap days are better described as mid-size.

Tour Cap Price from Meal included Parks Pass
Full-Day Bruny Island Tour with Guide 20 A$180 per person No Yes, per listing
Ultimate Full-Day Bruny Island 20 A$280 per person Yes, one-course lunch Yes, per listing
Exclusive Lighthouse and Local Tastings 19 A$195 per person No, lunch at own cost Yes, per listing
Hike, Highlights & Tastes 15 A$169 per person No Not stated
Signature Bruny Island Tour 6 A$360 per person No, samples only Not stated

One planning note on the passes in that table: a valid parks pass is required for entry to South Bruny National Park, at A$49.15 per vehicle for a 24-hour Daily Pass or A$24.55 per person arriving by bus. Tour listings differ on whether the pass is included, so the table reports only what each listing states, and self-drivers should budget the vehicle pass separately.

What Do You Give Up Or Gain At Each Group Size?

The trade is time against price. At a cap of 6 you get a day shaped around half a dozen people, backed by 9 reviews; at a cap of 20 you get the lowest per-seat price on the roster, backed by 938 and 1,003 reviews respectively, but a schedule that moves on schedule. The 15-cap hike day is the compromise: the lowest-priced full day and the only one built around walking rather than tasting.

A small group of hikers with daypacks walking a coastal path above a turquoise bay and sea cliffs

Smaller caps change the mechanics of every stop. With six guests, a cellar door tasting is a conversation; the Bruny Island Cheese Co runs its cellar door from 10 am to 4 pm daily with its kitchen to 3 pm, and tastings there are by booking, with groups larger than 8 requiring 48 hours' notice. A 20-guest bus cannot book that kind of intimate tasting on the same terms, which is one reason the big days anchor on producers built for volume, such as Get Shucked, which requires no reservations and opens daily.

Review volume is the other quiet trade. Large-cap tours accumulate hundreds of reviews quickly, so their ratings are statistically sturdy: 4.7 from 938 reviews on the Tassie Tours day tells you a great deal. The 5.0 ratings on the 6-guest and 19-guest days come from 9 and 3 reviews respectively; they are real scores from real guests, but three reviews cannot smooth out a single bad day, a rough-weather crossing or one off-form guide. Weight the number beside the score, always.

Format matters as much as head count. The 15-cap Tours Tasmania day is a walking day with tastings at the end, aimed at travellers who want their legs tired before their palate. The 6-guest signature day is a food-first itinerary with a private driver. The 19 and 20-cap days are road-and-ferry sightseeing days with food folded in. Two travellers who both want "small group" can legitimately land on different products, and the cap alone will not tell you which; the format row in the table below will.

Tour Cap Format Best for
Signature Bruny Island Tour 6 Private driver, max 6 Food-focused couples and small parties
Lighthouse climb 10 30-minute guided climb Adding a viewpoint to a self-drive day
Hike, Highlights & Tastes 15 Small-group hiking day Active travellers on a mid budget
Exclusive Lighthouse and Tastings 19 Small-group road day Lighthouse plus producer visits
Full-Day Tour with Guide 20 Minibus, max 20 Low-price guided full day

Cancellation windows differ too, and the mid-cap day is the strictest. The hike-and-taste day requires cancellation 2 days ahead for a refund, while the 6, 19 and 20-guest days listed here all allow free cancellation up to 24 hours before the tour. Most roster listings allow free cancellation but the cutoff differs, so read the booking page for whichever day you choose rather than assuming the generous window.

How Does The Ferry Shape A Small-Group Day?

Every Hobart-departing tour on this page crosses on the Island Connections ferry from Kettering, a 20-minute sailing that runs every 20 minutes from 6.10 am to 7.00 pm, 365 days a year. The drive from Hobart to Kettering takes 35 to 40 minutes, and all passengers including the driver travel free with a vehicle, so the fare is a vehicle cost, not a per-head cost.

A vehicle ferry loaded with cars and a small bus easing away from a terminal jetty across calm water

The ferry is why tour caps matter even before Bruny's roads begin. A guided tour's vehicle takes one queue slot on the Island Connections (formerly SeaLink) service, and pre-purchased tickets are for the next available ferry rather than a specific departure, which is how the operators keep their schedules honest. For a self-drive visitor, an under-6 m vehicle pays A$58.60 Regular return through 30 November, rising to A$67.30 from 1 December to April, with the Saver fare at A$50.90; motorcycles and bicycles pay A$8.10 return.

For tour passengers the crossing is invisible, folded into the ticket, which is one of the quiet arguments for a guided day on an island with real logistics. Every full-day tour in this comparison includes the ferry in its fare, and several include the National Parks Pass as well. The Hobart day trip guide walks through the timing of a DIY crossing for travellers weighing the tour premium against self-driving.

Crossing item Detail
Operator Island Connections (formerly SeaLink)
Crossing time 20 minutes
First to last from Kettering 6.10 am to 7.00 pm, every 20 minutes
Days of operation 365 days a year
Hobart to Kettering drive 35 to 40 minutes
Passengers with a vehicle Free, including the driver
Vehicle under 6 m return A$58.60 Regular to 30 Nov; A$67.30 Regular Dec to Apr; A$50.90 Saver
Tickets Return fares, valid 365 days, next available sailing

The rebrand matters for planning. The service now trades as Island Connections under Journey Beyond, having carried the SeaLink name for years, and older pages and printed itineraries still use the previous name. Search either and you will land in the same place; just avoid relying on any timetable screenshot more than a season old, since the summer timetable took effect from 28 September 2026.

Which Cap Suits Which Traveller?

Pick by priority rather than label: choose Cap 6 (from A$360) for a food day shaped around you, Cap 10 (from A$25) purely for the lighthouse climb, Cap 15 (from A$169) for an active walking day, or Caps 19 and 20 (from A$195 and A$180). Every option includes hotel pickup from Hobart except the 15-guest hike and the lighthouse climb.

A guide standing beside an open van door speaking with a few travellers at a lookout above a long beach and headland

Pickup is the detail most often assumed wrongly. The signature tour collects within 5 km of Hobart; the Safaris days and both Tassie Tours full days offer hotel pickup; the 15-guest hike day does not collect from hotels, so factor a central Hobart meeting point into that morning. The roster's pickup notes are listing-specific, and no blanket claim covers them all.

Budget-first travellers have a clear run at the Tassie Tours full day. At from A$180 it undercuts every other guided full day on the island while still covering the ferry, the Parks Pass and CBD pickup, and its 938-review history makes it the lowest-risk booking on the page. Food is extra, but the island's producers are inexpensive to graze through: guests on that very tour single out the oysters at Get Shucked, and one review puts it plainly, "Amazing oysters at Get schucked - don't miss it!"

Experience-first travellers should read the 6-guest signature listing closely. The tour includes wine, oyster, honey and cheese samples but not lunch, and whisky and chocolate cost extra, so the from-A$360 fare is a floor rather than an all-in figure. What the fare reliably buys is head-count: no more than five other guests, a private driver, and the flexibility that implies across a nine-hour day. The signature small-group food tour page carries the full inclusions list.

Active travellers split between the 15-guest hike day and the cruise-based options. The hike day walks the coast to the Arch and climbs to 360-degree views before the tasting afternoon; if a boat appeals more than boots, the three-hour wilderness cruise from Adventure Bay, rated 4.8 from 632 reviews and from A$190, is an open-boat alternative with a similar price and no hiking, though it does not collect from Hobart hotels.

Families and friend groups of four have a third option that beats every shared cap: buy the vehicle. The eight-hour private guided day from Love Tasmania Tours is from A$991 per group for up to 4 travellers, which works out below the per-head signature fare at full occupancy, and with nobody else aboard. The trade is that it is a sightseeing day with producer stops, not a curated tasting itinerary, and its 5.0 rating rests on 3 reviews.

Weather should shape the timing of whichever cap you pick. The Bureau of Meteorology's Cape Bruny station records a mean maximum of just 20.2 degrees in January and February, the warmest months, falling to 12.2 in July, with August the wettest at 85.7 mm mean rainfall on average and January the driest at 39.3 mm, per the Cape Bruny climate averages. The hiking and cruise formats feel those numbers most, and conditions on the water always decide what a sailing delivers.

Whichever cap you settle on, book the decision-relevant parts early in peak season. The 6 and 15-guest days sell out first because their arithmetic is fixed: six seats and fifteen seats are six and fifteen, however strong demand runs, while a 20-guest operator can add departures. Free cancellation up to 24 hours before the tour applies to both of those days' main rivals, and the 15-guest hike day's 2-day window is the one to watch.

Common Questions About Bruny Island Small-Group Tours

What Is The Smallest Group Tour On Bruny Island?

The Signature Bruny Island Tour from Bespoke Tours Hobart is capped at 6 guests with a private driver, from A$360 per person, rated 5.0 from 9 reviews. It runs about 9 hours with hotel pickup within 5 km of Hobart, the ferry, and wine, oyster, honey and cheese samples included.

Is A Twenty-Guest Bruny Island Tour Still A Small Group?

It is small relative to coach tours but the cap must be stated. Both 20-guest days on the roster, the Tassie Tours full day from A$180 and the Bruny Island Safaris flagship from A$280, are minibus tours with a stated maximum of 20. If your definition of small group is a dozen or fewer, the 6, 10 and 15-cap tours are the matches.

Which Small-Group Bruny Tour Is Cheapest?

The Tours Tasmania hike, highlights and tastes day, capped at 15 guests, from A$169 per person, rated 4.8 from 76 reviews. The absolute cheapest guided experience is the 30-minute lighthouse climb at from A$25, but it is a short stop rather than a full day, and transport and the parks pass are not included.

Do Small-Group Bruny Island Tours Pick Up From Hobart Hotels?

It varies by listing. The 6-guest signature tour collects within 5 km of Hobart, the 19 and 20-guest days offer hotel pickup, and the 15-guest hike day does not collect from hotels. Check the pickup note on the specific listing before booking.

Can You Cancel A Small-Group Bruny Island Tour?

Most roster listings allow free cancellation but the cutoff differs. The 6, 19 and 20-guest days discussed here allow it up to 24 hours before the tour, while the 15-guest hike day requires cancellation 2 days ahead. Always read the booking page for the tour you choose.

Is A Private Tour Better Value Than A Six-Guest Tour?

For a group of four it can be. The eight-hour private guided tour is from A$991 per group for up to 4 travellers, which works out below the A$360 signature tour per head at full occupancy. The trade is itinerary style: the private day is sightseeing with producer stops, and its 5.0 rating comes from only 3 reviews.